Azara Blog: More countries join the Schengen agreement

Blog home page | Blog archive

Google   Bookmark and Share

Date published: 2007/12/21

The BBC says:

Forty-eight hours of celebrations are taking place to mark nine new states joining a European border-free zone.

The Schengen agreement, which allows passport-free travel across the area, now embraces 24 nations.

Some 2,000 people celebrated in the town of Frankfurt on Oder at Germany's border with Poland, amid fireworks and the EU anthem, Beethoven's Ode to Joy.

The Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia joined the zone.

It's great news for Europe. Perhaps some day Britain will stop its inward-looking, backwards-looking, and xenophobic attitude to the rest of Europe, and join the club.

All material not included from other sources is copyright For further information or questions email: info [at] cambridge2000 [dot] com (replace "[at]" with "@" and "[dot]" with ".").