Azara Blog: Vatican introduces seven more sins

Blog home page | Blog archive

Google   Bookmark and Share

Date published: 2008/03/10

The BBC says:

The Vatican has brought up to date the traditional seven deadly sins by adding seven modern mortal sins it claims are becoming prevalent in what it calls an era of "unstoppable globalisation".
The new mortal sins were listed by Archbishop Gianfranco Girotti at the end of a week-long training seminar in Rome for priests, aimed at encouraging a revival of the practice of confession - or the Sacrament of Penance in Church jargon.

The Pope could do with slightly better marketing people. The "traditional" seven sins were short, sweet and to the point:

Unfortunately the proposed "modern" seven sins are not short, sweet or even much to the point:

With the original seven sins, you can imagine most people willing to admit to pretty much any of them as part of confession. But with the new seven sins pretty much none of them apply to anyone (unless "environmental pollution" includes having children, or driving a car). So how are these supposed to encourage confession?

And the Vatican is easily the top example in the world of "accumulating excessive wealth". Not even Bill Gates could imagine spending enough money to build the equivalent. So if the Pope finds this kind of wealth to be a sin, then he should perhaps consider moving out of the Vatican and turning it over to someone else.

All material not included from other sources is copyright For further information or questions email: info [at] cambridge2000 [dot] com (replace "[at]" with "@" and "[dot]" with ".").